Finance

What We Do
The Finance Department is responsible for the management and supervision of the Town’s finances including budget, accounting for town funds including accounts payable and accounts receivable, bonding and all banking operations for both the Town and the BOE operating and capital accounts.

The Finance Office is also responsible for facilitating mill rate calculation, assessing and collecting taxes and sewer use fees.

The office ensures the adherence to all provisions of the Town Charter, Government Accounting Standards Board (GASB) and Generally Accepted Accounting Principles.  It prepares monthly financial reports on the fiscal condition of the Town in relation to the budget, acts as a liaison to all departments and financial institutions on matters relating to Town business, and ensures all debt obligations of the Town are paid in accordance with borrowing provisions. The Finance Department also oversees preparation of the Town Budget and works closely with the Board of Education.

It is responsible to the Town Administration, Board of Finance and Audit Committee.  It facilitates the annual audit of the Town and is responsible for achieving Government Finance Officers Association recognition for Excellence in Financial Reporting.


Contact Us
Main Number 203-594-3022 
Fax Number 203-594-3122

Monday - Friday 8:00am - 4:00pm 


Staff
Sandra Dennies, CFO 
203-594-3024 
Sandra.Dennies@newcanaanct.gov  

Joanne Noone, Comptroller
203-594-3045
Joanne.Noone@newcanaanct.gov

Lunda Asmani, Budget Director 
203-594-3026
Lunda.Asmani@newcanaanct.gov 

Beth Straubel, Staff Accountant AP/AR
203-594-3025 
Beth.Straubel@newcanaanct.gov 

Bob Vredenburgh, Accountant
203-594-3023
Bob.Vredenburgh@newcanaanct.gov 

Brista Pental, Accounting Clerk
203-594-3028
Brista.Pental@newcanaanct.gov 


Location
Town Hall, 2nd Floor 
77 Main Street
New Canaan, CT 06840