Annual Fishing Derby postponed until Next Saturday April 27th Due to weather. 
Registration begins at 8:00am, Fishing at 8:30am

Justice of the Peace
Email This Page

Election of Justices

TERM OF OFFICE - January 3, 2017 – January 4, 2021

Two thirds of the candidates for Justice of the Peace are appointed by the two major political parties of the Town, the remaining one third is allocated for minor party members and unaffiliated voters and these are appointed by the Town Clerk.

Justices of the Peace

Cristina Aguirre-Ross
John A Amarilios
George Blauvelt
Andrew Brooks
Timothy Brown
Susan G Ceresa
Kathleen Corbet
Kit Devereaux
Patrick F. Donovan
Wade Eyerly
Kenneth Gammill, Jr.
William D. Gardner
Hugh Halsell, III
Wendy C.Hillboldt
Elizabeth A. (Beth) Jones
Ellen Kiernan
Matthew Konspore
John Kriz
Hector Lopez-Rodriguez
Betty J. Lovastik
Michael J. Mauro
Constance D. McManus,
Mary Anne Mercogliano
Tucker B. Murphy
Stephen Parrett
Bernard E. Simpkin

Powers of the Justices of the Peace

Powers and duties of the Justices of the Peace are mandated by state statute, and are detailed in the 1997 Justices of The Peace Manual published by the Secretary of State of the State of Connecticut.

Commonly used powers of the Justices of the Peace include:

Performance of marriages
Administration of General Oaths
Authority to take the acknowledgement in the conveyance of real estate
Acknowledgement of primary and nomination petitions
Issuance of a subpoena in a civil action or probate proceeding 

For further information contact the Office of the Town Clerk: 203-594-3070